flyingterew.blogg.se

Rapunzel costumes
Rapunzel costumes









rapunzel costumes
  1. #Rapunzel costumes movie
  2. #Rapunzel costumes full

Once boned, grommeted and laced, the "pulls" and wrinkles get smoothed out. NOTE: The WIP photo shown is before the sleeves were put on and before the bodice was boned, grommeted or laced. The back of the bodice has a faux-under-blouse, too, with small pink flower buttons (Rapunzel’s are round, I decided to go with flowers.) The lower sleeves (also embroidered) are made out of a slightly transparent silk. I also tried to match the floral patterns around the seams to get a seamless look (since that’s what is shown in the screenshots.) For an example/tutorial on matching designs over seams, see this page (or google more tutorials similar.) The pink ribbons on Rapunzel’s cap-sleeves have topstitching detail. So I’d look at a shot of her and see what floral bit was on what part of her bodice and then lay the pieces out accordingly. When cutting from my spoonflower printed floral fabric, I tried to match the position of the florals on the bodice to the screenshots of Rapunzel. The coutil lining and the boning makes a nice smooth bodice and also allows the bodice to be used as a proper corset.

rapunzel costumes

The bodice is fully lined in coutil and corset-boned with working grommets/lacing in the front with a modesty panel for her faux-under-blouse. The lower hem lace on the bodice was dyed pink with RIT DYE. This same lace is also gathered into the lower sleeve/wrist and it’s the same lace used to hem the petticoat of the skirt. There is pink piping around the edge of the bodice and then lace is gathered into that on the collar and the lower hem. I really loved that they actually showed the boning channels in the film!

rapunzel costumes

The double boning chanels also match Rapunzel’s. I tried to match the seamlines of Rapunzel’s bodice as closely as possible by studying screenshots and then sketching out where the seamlines should be. Then I cut it apart and added new seam allowances where needed. So basically, I cut a muslin based on McCalls 4107 and then took a pen and drew the new seamlines on it. My Belle’s bodice was based on McCalls 4107. I also took the bodice in some knowing that I’d be lacing in like a corset. On the bodice, I used my previous Belle blue dress bodice as my initial muslin and then drew out where the new seams would be and lowered the hem a bit. I added a sequined trim along the hem of the skirt and up the separated front panel for some extra detail. There is a matching white petticoat with lace on it (the same bow lace from the bodice).

#Rapunzel costumes full

Sorry, I no longer remember the pattern I used as the base for Belle’s skirt (it’s been a few years.) Basically it’s a skirt that is full at the bottom and relatively fitted around the hips. When you look at the images of Rapunzel, her skirt is a little shiny with a little bit of texture, so I was not only matching the color, but the sheen of the fabric.įor the skirt pattern, I used my muslin for my Belle blue dress skirt, and then split it into the same number of panels as Rapunzel’s. You can also just find good shots online of your character and print them out, making sure your computer print-out is as color accurate as possible. Often the color that you remember in your head is not very accurate. I highly recommend doing this sort of thing when you are picking out fabrics. I took this book with me when I bought the base fabrics (for the cap-sleeves, the lower sleeves and the non-printed-pattern part of the skirt).

#Rapunzel costumes movie

If I did it the other way around, there's no guarantee that I could find fabrics at the store that would match what I made at spoonflower.Ī note on color matching, I had bought a Tangled children’s book which I felt had pretty color accurate images of the 3d models from the movie (ie not 2d illustrations or color skewed mood screenshots from the movie). I wanted to make sure that fabrics printed at spoonflower matched the surrounding fabrics properly, so I decided to buy the base fabrics first, and then create my spoonflower fabrics to match them. (There are other fabric printing places like Fabric on Demand as well.) I decided to design the fabric myself and have it printed at spoonflower. I could either find a brocade I liked that didn’t have the exact floral pattern of Rapunzel’s… or I could make a printed fabric which wouldn’t be brocade/woven, but would have the exact pattern. Rapunzel’s center-skirt-panel fabric in the movie is kindof a brocade (with some slightly reflective threads) so that it changes color in the light or how the fabric drapes. The trickiest problem to solve before I could start the costume was to find or make a suitable fabric.











Rapunzel costumes